Gigabyte or MSI

Tags:
  • Motherboards
  • Cooler Master
  • Gigabyte
  • MSI
Last response: in Motherboards
February 10, 2010 7:54:10 AM

Please suggest me a board among Gigabyte EX58-UD5 and MSI Big Bang Trinergy. My new rig will have,

Intel Core i7-920
Nvidia GTX 480
Nvidia GTS 250(Physx)
Transcend 8 gb DDR3 1333 MHZ
Cooler Master UCP 900W
Cooler Master Storm Sniper Cabinet.

I am new to overclocking. Also tell me about PCI-E bandwidth distribution among three slots, Something like 16x,16x & 8x.
I will be purchasing this rig for long-term use.

More about : gigabyte msi

a b V Motherboard
February 10, 2010 8:13:46 AM

Go for Gigabyte! It is rock solid stable & Good performance board!
Gigabyte boards Good VFM too! (I am using K7 Triton for past 7 Yrs With Zero Problem)
m
l
February 10, 2010 10:21:27 AM

Both are good... But i'm slightly inclined towards MSI...

PCI - E slots have a bandwidth of 16X... when two cards are installed in two slots, full bandwidth is given to both.. but when a third card comes, the bandwidth is shared... the first card will have 16X but the second card will share its 16X with the third card... making both the second and the third card tun at 8X bandwidth... This might seem to have slowed the cards... Technically yes.. Practically speaking this is almost negligible..
m
l
Related resources
a c 156 V Motherboard
February 10, 2010 3:06:32 PM

Gigabyte. With apologies to abhishekk89, there just aren't that many of us who are going to use three video cards. It would be different if the performance of three cards scaled a little better, but it doesn't.
m
l
February 10, 2010 5:06:37 PM

If that's the only choice... Well I would take the Gigabyte... ONLY!!!!

You will be disappointed with the MSI Big Bang Trienergy just because your i7 920 might not fit into the socket... but it's your call :D 
m
l
February 10, 2010 6:52:10 PM