Vertex 3 "Disk Read Error"

Zebeyo

Distinguished
May 29, 2011
So I got the dreaded Disk Read Error, and I'm now looking for advice.

Background:
I've been running 2 60GB Vertex 2's with no problems for 8 months, and decided to give it a shot with a 120GB Vertex3 to get more space on my boot drive. It arrived a few days ago and I went on to install windows 7 and start updating drivers. Early on I got a blue screen but didn't put too much thought into it as I was still installing drivers etc. So I just planned a chkdsk and moved on. This morning the I power up the chkdsk runs, finds no errors, reboots to windows and works fine. A couple of automatic windows updates are downloaded and after installing I agree to reboot before installing office and all that jazz. After rebooting the bluescreen has happened twice while it's apparently updating the service pack; which means before it enters the OS itself. After the bluescreens there it now just gives the Disk Read Error when booting from the drive.

The thing is I never removed Windows 7 from my old 60GB drive so I can still boot into that no problem (What I'm on atm). I can see and interact with the Vertex 3 just fine now as long as it's not the boot drive. All the files are there etc. I tried to switch the cables between the vertex 2 and vertex 3 but it made no difference. I'm really confused here.

Anyway any advice is more than welcome, In the meantime I will try to run a recovery an fixmbr and that kind of stuff. Obviously the drive works, so shouldn't be a need to RMA it, on the other hand I have hardly any use for it if not for a boot drive.

Zebeyo

Distinguished
May 29, 2011
Edit: Seems there's a lot of issues with the sandforce controller according to the OCZ forum... Since it's not just me having problems I guess this is not so relevant anymore...

mcg75

Distinguished
May 1, 2008
Don't waste your time looking for help at the OCZ forums. It's all user installation error according to them. When that doesn't