Sign in with
Your question

Extremely Poor Performance (I am not a newbie)

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
November 14, 2009 10:47:02 PM

My current setup is this:
Corsair 650w psu,
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ clocked at 2.6ghz stable
3.25 gb ram , configured as 3x1gb and 1x256mb pc 3200 sticks,
I have 2x36gb raptor sata drives for windows and 2x100gb for games and media, these are not raid setup,
ATI Radeon HD 4890 1gb Overclocked 910mhz core clock, 1100mhz memory clock
I have a gigabyte ga-k8n pro sli mobo,
Nforce4 chipset,
windows xp pro

Long story short, I have a strong tech background I have alot of experience behind me regarding computers and performance. Long story short,
I have a secondary computer with the SAME EXACT PROCESSOR , 4x512mb ram pc 5200
1x200gb ide hdd for windows and games, same copy of windows, only this one has an asus mobo with no sli, its an agp 8x geforce 6800 gt 256mb ram.

Now I can lower settings on the secondary computer and get around 60fps on games like Left 4 Dead and Quake 4, I also have been benchmarking with Serious Sam 2, but its for ANY Game. If I have both computers at the same lower settings , my secondary computer gets a much smoother true to life frame rate. When it says its doing 60+fps I know for sure it is because its super smooth.

When I run the same exact level, everything, on the MUCH higher end computer, it says I get 60+fps but it looks more like its 20-30, theres stuttering or almost dropped frame type of look. Its not smooth. I have been racking my brain with this.

Both computers have ample cooling, I have all fans on manual, both fresh copies of XP, fresh drivers, tried OC'ing cpu and GPU and using default values, the end result doesnt change. I am losing my mind, I wanted everyone to try to give me their two cents to see if I might be missing something.