MY LCD IS MAKING MY SYSTEM UNSTABLE!!!

tombance

Distinguished
Jun 16, 2002
I have recently got an LCD 17" display. When I connect it to the analog input, I have to turn it off at startup otherwise it makes my computer freeze at the video bios screen. However I just bought a GF4 with DVI, using this it will not start at all. If I take all of the connections out of my Graphics Card, it boots straight up, it also works if I use my old 15" CRT, what can be causing this, does my LCD require something new? Someone must know, please help.

My sig's faster than yours, and it overclocks better too....

tombance

Distinguished
Jun 16, 2002
Come on, someone must have an idea, this is not a troll post. GoShark help me please!!!!

My sig's faster than yours, and it overclocks better too....

GoSharks

Distinguished
Feb 9, 2001
I have a hard time believing it is the monitor causing the problem. I’m no expert on systems or BIOS, odds are it is one of these that is causing the problem. Make certain all previous video drivers are completely removed from the system, old drivers lying around have caused me headaches in the past.

Try the monitor on another system to see if the symptoms move with the monitor.

Sorry I cannot be more help.

Jim Witkowski
Chief Hardware Engineer
MonitorsDirect.com

<A HREF="http://www.monitorsdirect.com" target="_new">MonitorsDirect.com</A>

Neil_is_Dead

Distinguished
Apr 25, 2002
I agree there is little chance that an LCD can cause the instability your talking about unless its faulty (shorting a pin).

Maybe plugging your LCD into your GCard is causing some form of noise on the AGP bus which is causing a boot failure, how old is your MB.

Try a few of the basics/common sense things:

Try the LCD on a different PC, if its OK try swapping your graphics card and see if the problem moves as well.. this should allow you to narrow down the problem.