So currently I have my i7 920 undervolted to 1.0875v (which shows up as ~1.055v in Windows, and goes to ~1.04v) from an initial 1.15v

I wish to undervolt it further...should I undervolt it to 1.05v base value, or should I go all-out and try to get it to 1.0v?

Has anyone even tried running their i7 920 at 1v or less?

Solution
Its not always a good idea to undervolt. I know its seems like it would be the EXACT opposite of over volting, which is what we do to achieve higher MHZ than stock. Theres a lot of complexity to this, some background. I have a degree in electronics (ac/dc digital theory, 20 years ago, I took a diff career route) , I also have relatives and friends that work for the Electric utility. Long story short, low voltage to your house is BAD, to power your devices, to satisfy the voltage regulators and draw to make them work generally they have to draw MORE amperage to make up for less voltage. The chip is designed to work with the voltage regulator of your motherboard plugged in to a 120 volt outlet. Lowering your voltage at that point...
From my initial 1.0875v (1.055v), my HWmonitor recorded the lowest power draw at 40.1 Watts.

At 1v (.96v), my lowest power draw is 46.12Watts

Why is my power draw higher? Is it because the system needs to keep the multiplier higher in order to maintain stability? It runs fine in Prime95.

Perhaps I should just increase the voltage...

So I'm at a crossroads here...

I can either keep my voltage at 1.05-1.0875v which causes my lowest power consumption to fall to 40watts at idle with temperatures not going over 59'C during Prime95...

OR

I can keep my voltage at 1v, which causes my lowest power consumption to increase to ~47watts (147watts max draw), and my cpu doesn't go over 53'C

Or

I can try to find a "sweet spot" between 1v and 1.05v which will result in my lowest power consumption falling to 40watts, and my max temps at 55'C or under.

*This 46watts at idle thing for 1v is really annoying... >_<

notty22