Stablity in Overclock

koonzui

Distinguished
Oct 27, 2011
Hi all! Im new to Tom's Hardware and has thus far found it a very enriching experience.

Im am currently struggling with stability issues and would like to seek some advice on it, especially the voltages.

System Setup:
AMD Athlon II x2 240 @ 3.72GHz (265 x 14), Core Voltage 1.48V
CM Hyper 212+
MSI 785G-E53, default BIOS
2 * Kingston Value RAM 2GB DDR3 PC10666, running at timings 8-8-8-24, 1T (default 9-9-9-25, 2T), 1413Mhz
Seasonic S12II 620W
Powercolor HD6870 PCS+ reclocked to stock settings
MS WINXP SP3 32bit

NB Freq: 2389.6Mhz
HT Link: 1858MHz
CPU Voltage: 1.498
CPU-NB Voltage: 1.493
HT link Voltage:1.371
DRAM Voltage: 1.71
NB Voltage: Auto
Temps: 30~44 deg Celcius

Queries
1. I have read quite widely, but i am still confused with the term HT and HTT
2. How the CPU-NB and NB actually differ
3. Is turning up the voltages the only way of stablising an OC?
4. how high is high when I increase the voltages, and which are the voltages that I should be more careful of
5. I noticed that by increasing the voltages, the temps tend to increase, therefore, is it true that I can increase the voltage to any value I like so long as the temps are acceptable?
6. How are the HT Link and NB related? I've read that NB frequency should always be greater or equal to the HT Link frequency, otherwise it will BSoD. *I think the "NB" in this latter refers to the CPU-NB rather than the NB itself*
7. I believe my CPU can still go further, but is limited by other factors; it definitely has to be either the RAM or NB but I cant tell which. This is because my PC will still boot at 3.8GHz but will instantly BSoD once it goes past POST. Thus, i pushed the voltages hard but came to the conclusion that its not possible; it just simply wont reach desktop.

casualbuilder

Distinguished
Aug 8, 2011
Reset your RAM timings and see if this helps. You can go from there.