Sign in with
Your question
Solved

MSI P43T-C51 + Sparkle Sparkle 9600 GT 1G

Last response: in Motherboards
February 13, 2010 9:42:41 PM

Ive recently set up a pc but im having problems with the graphics card, keeps on hanging and gives me artifacts when i play games on high settings. Ive updated the drivers tried different OS (XP and Win7) and it still doesnt work. Went to the shop and was told that it may be a compatibility issue with the motherboard and the graphics card. Tech told me my motherboard (MSI P43T-C51) is not compatible with graphic cards with DDR3 memory. Im no tech expert and i cant tell if this is true. Need help!

Best solution

February 14, 2010 12:49:50 AM

Don't go to that computer shop again. They don't know what they're talking about.

1. your motherboard has a pci-express x16 2.0 slot which is the type of slot being used on today's high end gaming computers
2. a motherboard's use of DDR2 ram and a graphic's card use of DDR3 has NOTHING to do with each other

That guy is REALLY misinformed and should be fired or something. That's ridiculous. If that was the case, how are people using 4870/4890's on p45 chipsets? That's DDR5 and DDR2 mixing together. That guy is SERIOUSLY mistaken, and I'm horrified that he's a "tech"

If your system is hanging and you're getting artifacts, it may be a graphics card problem. What resolution are you running your games at? What is the rest of your setup? ie. CPU, power supply, HD.. How is the airflow in your case? A lot of problems with graphics cards arise from the card overheating. Did you clean out your case? you have enough fans in your system to deliver fresh air to your graphics card?
February 14, 2010 9:24:55 AM