Sign in with
Your question

Help building new system.

Last response: in Systems
August 25, 2009 12:21:58 AM

Ok, so today I began installing all my hardware and connecting all the cables to my motherboard, psu, etc. This is my first time putting a system together, so the biggest thing that's giving me an issue are the cables that came with the PSU and motherboard.

As far as the installation went, I was able to get all the hardware secured to the case/motherboard without any problems. I connected all the case cables to the motherboard (Gigabyte GA-MA70X UD4P), which wasn't that bad. Connected the CPU fan successfully.

I think I connected my optical drive (SATA DVD drive), but could use some help varifying. For this, I used the power cable that came with my PSU (OCZ 500W). This cable has a total of 3 SATA power connectors, is this correct? I can use this on my SATA hard drive for the power also? For the data cable I used the L shape SATA cable that came with my motherboard and connected it into the SATA0 slot, is this correct?