Sign in with
Your question

Is my RAM dead?...(8gb 1600mhz displayed differently)

Last response: in Overclocking
October 30, 2011 12:16:38 AM

Hey everyone,
I currently just upgraded my RAM from 4GB 1333mhz to 8GB 1600mhz.. and I'm finding problems in my BIOS.

I have taken pictures on my camera for better details.
Everything looks so weird.. I'm new with the BIOS tweaking so I need some help with this.

I know the Memory Clock is set to [AUTO], and when I press enter to change the settings a lot of different MHz speed is shown. (but it displays not like 1333 and 1600 rather 1400 and 1680..) I have pictures below for details.

The latency is messed up too..

The Latency is 9, but it shows 6 in BIOS
The timing is 9-9-9-24, but.. I don't know what it shows in my BIO. LOL.

Can someone give me step by step instructions to make my RAM to 1600mhz? Or is my RAM DEAD and I need to send it back?
:ouch:  :pfff: 

Thank you for helping..

-
[MOTHERBOARD: Asrock M3a770de]
[RAM: CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB, 1600mhz Model CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9]
[Processor: Phenom II x4 955 BE]

Note how it shows 4096MB/420Mhz DDR3_840.. what the heck is this?

This is the BIOS Overall look

" alt="" class="imgLz frmImg " />

This is the MEMORY TAB in my BIOS

This is the MEMORY CLOCK SETTING IN BIOS/
October 30, 2011 1:26:54 AM

Sorry for re-posting.

Does this mean I got to set the Latency and Timing manually? If so, how should I put it?
I don't get the TRCD TRP TRAS TRAP, ETC.
And what memory clock should I put it as??
m
l
October 30, 2011 2:31:21 AM

The timings are correct for the given speed your BIOS is setting the DDR3 memory at, you can check them against the JEDEC timings on wiki -> http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DDR3_SDRAM