Sign in with
Your question

Need a new DELL C521 HY175 mother board

Last response: in Motherboards
February 15, 2010 8:02:02 PM

Hi,

I'm switching from the graphics card forum to motherboards after a great deal of diagnostics....

http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/forum2.php?config=t...

...I even tried the PCI diagnostics utility PCI32 which stated I had a 'Link Training Error' on SLOT 1, various manuals stated that this could only happen if the card is faulty or not seated properly, this is not the case.

So now I need help finding the best place to get a DELL C521 (HY175) mother board. Dell are looking for £150 which is a bit high.

Any thoughts ?

Also a good link to a guide for changing your mothee board would be good, I've never tried this before.

Thanks

PC: DELL C521 Athlon 62 X2 5000+ 2.6GHz, 2GB RAM, 7200 rpm, Galaxy 9600GT 500MG, Compro E900 twin tuner.
a c 435 V Motherboard
a b U Graphics card
February 16, 2010 12:28:32 PM

The bad news is your board is a btx form factor. It's very difficult to find a replacement board. One was on ebay in the states and the current bid is $81. Does your power supply have the connections for your new video card? Some high or mid range video cards require a 6 pin pci-e connector from the power supply which the dell probably doesn't have. Some also require a higher wattage power supply. If your board works with onboard video, I would leave the system as is and sell it, unless you want to purchase a better power supply.
a c 435 V Motherboard
a b U Graphics card
February 16, 2010 4:11:56 PM

You can also enter the bios and see if you can disable onboard video before installing the video card. I use the "del" key unless the post screen tells you otherwise.
Related resources
February 16, 2010 6:36:08 PM

Hi,

I've been running the system for the past year with the DELL 280W PSU ripped out completely, replaced with a 700W Arctic PSU (576W available to the 12V).