Sign in with
Your question

Sound problem driving me insane..

Last response: in Systems
August 28, 2009 4:10:55 AM

So, before I give you all the details, understand this: I am a sound noob. My experience with fancy surround sound systems are limited, and I am not experienced with all the various terms that come with the territory. Keep that in mind while reading my problem :lol: 

Anyways, the story is thus: I built an HTPC roughly a month ago, and everything seemed to be working great. I used an ASRock A790GHX/128M for my motherboard, and installation seemed to go smoothly (For the record, I am running Windows 7 RC 32bit). Unfortunately, I was very busy at the time, and did not have time to test everything. Regardless, earlier this week I wanted to watch a movie with my girlfriend. I had some spare Logitech Z5300's laying about, so I decided to plug them in and use those for listening (Using the mobo's onboard HD audio).

Nothing was heard.

It was like I hadn't even plugged anything in. I get sound fine through my tv speakers when using the HDMI cable to hookup, but I simply cannot get anything to play through the speakers. I have tried changing BIOS settings, different speakers, downloading drivers for any components I can think of, still cannot get anything out of those speakers. I am nearly pulling my hair out here, so in my desperation, I turn to you guys.

Any help is appreciated, and if you need more info about my system, just ask.
a b B Homebuilt system
August 28, 2009 6:28:35 AM

I am certain you have already tried this, but this happened to me and I felt like a complete idiot. Open your volume control. I had a separate volume control for my HDMI out and my 3.5mm jack. Just throwing that out there, to help you avoid feeling completely incompetent :) 
m
l
a b B Homebuilt system
August 28, 2009 6:54:28 AM