Sign in with
Your question

Help me make the right choice please (OCZ Agility 3)

Last response: in Storage
June 20, 2011 9:52:22 PM

Hello!

> I am a multimedia editor, mainly handling pictures and videos in media editing software like Photoshop, Premiere, AfterEffects and some 3D applications.

> My latest build is almost 2 years old and consists of a QuadCore Intel Core i7 920 CPU (no over-clocking), Asus P6T6 WS Revolution motherboard, 6x Corsair XMS3 CM3X2G1333C9 (totalling 12GB of RAM), EVGA nVIDIA GeForce GTX 295 Video Adapter in an Antec Tower Twelve Hundred. I'm running Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64.

> I have never owned hard disks better than Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 1500341 (I do have a dozen TBs of internal and external storage, but not on better devices) and I have never tested SCSI, SAS or SSD units, nor have I played with RAID configurations before.

> I could say that the fastest Hard Disk I had and still have is a GB of RAM that I spare for Firefox to use for its profile and cache folders (redirecting everything using folder junctions), but that's just a virtual hard disk and it basically translates to letting Firefox have its fun with 2GB of my RAM.

> What I would like to learn from this forum is what would be the best SSD solution for me? I would like it to be something withing the 120GB range with a budget limited to 250 Euro. I'm going to make some serious investments in the current build, but currently I don't want to pay more than 250 Euros for SSD storage.

> Here's a general overview of my scheme for the 120GBs of SSD I plan to get:
1. Install Windows 7 Ultimate x64;
2. Install and keep almost all of the minor but important utilities on the SSD;
3. Use folder junctions to move the larger software solutions to a Seagate Barracuda 7200.11;
4. Store my Firefox profile and cache folders on the SSD (and drop the RAM Disk I am currently using);