Sign in with
Your question

Overclocking my I7 950 on watercooling. Need some advice.

Last response: in Overclocking
November 4, 2011 9:20:38 PM

Hey guys i just put in a xspc rasa rs240 watercooling kit into my pc.

I'm pretty new to the whole watercooling thing so i was just wondering what sort of temperatures i should be getting as i think its a bit high atm.

So i've done the bleed test overnight and leak tested the thing the whole time and got rid of all the bubbles and the pumps running great.

So now i have overclocked my i7 950 to 3.80ghz and the ram is running at 1654mhz, but when i go to run prime 95 at 100% load i get around 86 degrees, under no load it runs around 50 - 55 degress. Is this ok?.. should i play around with the heatsink a bit possibly reseat it. I thought i would get a bit better temperature with watercooling.

I can run it at 4.03ghz at around the same temp.

I'm running a rampage 3 forumla motherboard, with 12gb of 1600mhz Gskill ram, i have fairly open cooling inside the case, rads on the bottom of my case, running rad fans at 80%, pulling air into the case.

Any hints or tips would be great.

Cheers
November 4, 2011 10:23:27 PM

Hi, I'm by no means an expert but I can categorically say that you've even over volted significantly, or your CPU cooler isn't mounted properly. 4ghz on that CPU + watercooling should not be hitting those temps!

Open CPU Z, then run Prime95 and report your voltages.
November 4, 2011 10:25:58 PM

I meant either rather than even!
Related resources
a c 324 K Overclocking
November 4, 2011 10:47:16 PM

I am assuming when you mention your temps, they are in Celsius and not Fahrenheit? If so, you should be seeing 30-35C at idle, and around 60-65C at load, but this might vary depending on CPU. Can you describe where your rad is mounted? Or post pics? Are you sure the pump is running? (I assume it is, or you'd see even higher temps)