Sign in with
Your question

Watercooling core i7 GTX 580 tri SLI rig

Last response: in Overclocking
November 6, 2011 12:08:52 AM

Hi everyone,

As the title says I am looking to watercool my rig. My rigs main components are:

Core i7 930 @ 4.0 ghz
Corsair Obsidian 800d Case
ASUS P6X58D-E Mobo
EVGA GTX 580 x 3 in tri sli

I have decided that I want to get the hydro copper blocks from EVGA.

What I want to know is what water cooling loop would suffice for this rig (radiators, pumps, kits etc). I do not intend to overclock the 580's very much. All I am looking for is a kit/loop that will give me pretty good temps (not necissarely the best) but above all be quiet.

I have also considered just running my cpu on air and running the 580's off of this kit alone.

I have taken a look at the XSPC RX360 kit and others. My main concern is whether the 360 rad would be enough for this rig or not.

Your advice will be greatly appreciated. I am completely new to water cooling so I need all the advice I can get.

Thanks
November 6, 2011 1:10:28 AM

Or if you want to watercool your CPU anyway, put a 120/140mm rad on the back.
m
l
November 6, 2011 1:17:18 AM

SushiDragon said:

Yeah that is definitely an option. Would be a great way to get just a little bit more radiator to keep everything cool.
m
l
Related resources
November 6, 2011 1:18:38 AM

SushiDragon said:

Well he said he didn't want an external rad, and a 120 would be really pushing it for an I7, however if I were going to do that I would use this 240, which is a cool looking all copper rad and it would give him a res too.

http://www.frozencpu.com/products/14204/ex-rad-289/Magi...
m
l
November 6, 2011 1:25:22 AM

Homeboy2 said:
Well he said he didn't want an external rad, and a 120 would be really pushing it for an I7, however if I were going to do that I would use this 240, which is a cool looking all copper rad and it would give him a res too.

Well I was thinking of using this kit: