Installing the Hyper 212+

gidgiddonihah

Distinguished
Oct 24, 2009
I bought the Cooler Master Hyper 212+, but I have had difficulties installing it. I had it installed, but had to uninstall it to get to a cable. When I installed it originally I had to put a ton of pressure on the screws of the retention plate just to get it in the screw holes, and I was worried I would crack the motherboard, or worse crush my CPU :/...

When I install it tonight when I get home, how much pressure is too much? I'm guessing that what I put wasn't enough to crack the motherboard as a ton of people install this and don't have issues, but I wanted to make sure. I have always used stock heatsinks as I don't like the idea of screwing up something, so I have no experience installing heatsinks...

Thanks Ahead

My Rig:
Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit
AMD Phenom II B45 @3.21 (Unlocked/Slightly OC'ed AMD Athlon II 445 3.1GHz)
MSI 870-G45
4GB G. Skill DDR3 1600 (Operating at 1333)
MSI GTX 460 Cylcone 1GB
Carsair HC500 500 Watt PSU

jecho

Distinguished
Sep 28, 2011
I have the same cooler and I would say dont go to the point of stripping your bolts. This would be bad. If you can try to get someone to hold the board flat while you line up your screws. I did it alone and it was relatively difficult. Also I am going to state the obvious but make sure you point the fan towards the exhaust. Messing this up will have you repeating this process.

Cygnus x-1

Distinguished
Jul 28, 2011
I put the fastening bracket on the heat sink and made sure it was set correctly before putting it into place. I found that easier than having to take ram out and sliding it in after it was on the chip. If you do it that way, it should easily line up with the holes. You shouldn't have to put much pressure on the screws. If you do, that means the bracket isn't lined up correctly.

gidgiddonihah

Distinguished
Oct 24, 2009