I5-2500k OCing seems stupid easy, I gotta be missing something...

doublepedaldylan

Distinguished
Jun 2, 2011
So, I've worked mine up to 4.5 GHz and mostly stable (once every few days I get a random reboot.

I'm new to the whole OC scene, and been reading various guides. The thing that I question is, besides a few CPU settings and protections either being enabled or disabled, it seems like overclocking goes as follows:

1) Up multiplier until you BSOD under load.
2) Up Vcore until you can go ~15 minutes on Prime95 blend w/o an error.
3) Repeat 1 and 2 until desired level reached.
4) Go for 6-12 hour runs of Prime95 blend, if errors, up Vcore again until no errors
5) Congrats

Am I missing something here? Is there a point you want to start changing other voltages (besides OCing RAM).
I know it is suggested to lower RAM clock when trying to push for higher numbers.

I'm working on 4.6 now, but Vcore is
at 1.380V (not sure if its bad taste to post settings)
so running out of safe overhead room.

HugoStiglitz

Distinguished
nope thats pretty well it.

the K and Black Editions of Intel and AMD CPU's have made overclocking a breeze.

your Vcore isnt to bad.

run the bench marks, drop ur cpu overclock, up ur memory speeds and benchmark it.
work out if ur better off with CPU clock speed or memory speeds.

If you want you can try isolation. Set all components to a lower then default setting except the component your overclocking. Then basically raise that device until bsod or failed prime test, increase voltage, ect. Once this is done you will have the max overclock for that component. You can do this for each device and then combine the results one at a time. If something goes wrong, then the device you combined last is the limiting factor of your machine.

Frizzo

Distinguished
Sep 17, 2010