Sign in with
Your question
Solved

NEED ADVICE ON BUDGET HTPC PLEASE.....

Last response: in Systems
September 1, 2009 4:34:59 AM

I am new to the HTPC and mostly computer building world. I have to admit its been very confusing and overwhelming so far researching on my own....especially since non of my friends dabble in any technology at all! So I am turning to everyone for help because I can't even make enough headway to create an example build to reviewed yet!

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: By October 1

BUDGET RANGE: $550 or less

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT
:

1. Playback of 480p, 720p, 1080i (Ripped/Recorded/Downloaded: Moves, Tv shows and DVD stored on HDD).

2. Up converting content to 720p, 1080i

2. Recording HD and SD digital cable from cable top-box.

3. Running TED (Torrent Episode Downloader) for TV shows.

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: Keyboard/Mouse/DVD Drive

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS
: tigerdirect.com, newegg.com or (any that is trusting and provides reasonable prices).

PARTS PREFERENCES:

1. I would like to use which ever brands are best for playing and up converting content of 480p, 720p, 1080i (i.e. whether Intel, AMD, NVIDIA).

2. I also am trying to figure out what the advantages/disadvantages are of using either: Mini-ITX, Micro ATX, or ATX and which on would fit my needs the best.

3. Would like wither MB or Graphics card to have HDMI.

4. Like to connect computer to my receiver via Toshlink.

OVERCLOCKING: No

SLI OR CROSSFIRE: Maybe?? Not totally sure what these are and if it will benefit me???

MONITOR RESOLUTION: My monitor will be a Panasonic VIERA TH-42PX80U plasma TV its a 720p capable of up-converting to 1080i.

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS
:

1. I would like it to fairly quiet with a average power consumption.

2. Will on-board integrated graphics be enough for HD or will using a discrete graphics card display better?

3. I would like to connect to the TV via HDMI!