Tags:
  • Heatsinks
  • Cooler Master
  • Cases
  • Overclocking
  • Product
Last response: in Overclocking
November 10, 2011 12:31:02 AM

I plan to get an i5-2500k CPU and overclock it on stock voltages hoping to get 4.2GHz. Soo... my options for cooling are either the XIGMATEK Dark Knight or Cooler Master Hyper 212. I'm leaning more towards the Dark Night because both HSF are pretty much the same and I get a discount on the Dark Night. I have a Cooler Master CAC-T05 case with a width of 202mm. I read somewhere the Dark Night needs a case with 206mm. Can anyone confirm?

More about : dark knight fit case

November 10, 2011 2:08:28 AM

Centora said:
I plan to get an i5-2500k CPU and overclock it on stock voltages hoping to get 4.2GHz. Soo... my options for cooling are either the XIGMATEK Dark Knight or Cooler Master Hyper 212. I'm leaning more towards the Dark Night because both HSF are pretty much the same and I get a discount on the Dark Night. I have a Cooler Master CAC-T05 case with a width of 202mm. I read somewhere the Dark Night needs a case with 206mm. Can anyone confirm?

Okay just got the XIGMATEK Dark Knight due to it being $8.95AR. I know people say you probably won't get the rebate but even if I don't get the rebate I'd of gotten the HSF for $28.95 just $3 more than the intended Hyper 212 cooler I was going to get. Just a gamble I'm willing to take to save $20.

Now on with the Motherboard. Which socket 1155 support the Dark Night and dosen't block the RAM slots (or just blocks channel 1/3)? I just will be using 2 slots using G.Skill Ripsaw 4GB x 2 dual chan.
m
l
a b K Overclocking
November 10, 2011 11:36:07 AM

G.Shill Ripjaws will fit underneath the Dark Knight cooler, just make sure you install the RAM before you install the cooler.

As for a motherboard, what are your needs? are you going to need SLI/Crossfire abilities? Do you want a full ATX board, or do you want an mATX board? Do you have a manufacturer preference?
m
l
Related resources