Graphics Cards idle up over 95 degrees!

shantd

Distinguished
Aug 2, 2008
I've got a pair of radeon 4850s, I've done the fan fix mod and, at the moment, they're set to 80%. Sitting idle, one of the cards is at 98 degrees and the other is 100. I realize it's quite hot in my room, I'm in California and it's in the mid to high 90s outside. It's a little bit cooler than that inside, but not much. Still, that can't possibly explain why the cards are so hot.

I built this computer several months ago (with help from the good members on this board, thanks again btw!) and everytime I did something with heavy processing, my system would shut itself off. I thought it was my GPU at first because it always happened when I tried to play games but I realized it was my CPU. I was only using the stock fan. I got a Coolermaster v8 for the CPU and the problem was solved, no more shutting off out of nowhere. But my cards are now the problem. I've got dual booting with Vista 64 bit ultimate & XP 32 bit. The cards run slightly hotter in Vista, but a degree or two, but both OS are well over 90 degrees idel.

Any ideas?? Thanks in advance,

Shant

Solution
I assume you mean 90s Fahrenheit outside and 98-100 Celcius for the cards, correct? If so, that is insanely hot. Are those single slot coolers? Regardless, check for dust buildup.

shantd

Distinguished
Aug 2, 2008
Do you honestly think I'd be posting this if all I needed to do is turn the AC on? I've got an industrial swamp cooler in here, seperate from central air. The central air is practically always on. Even when they're both blasting my cards are in the high 80s' low 90s' idle. And when the cards are at load, it doesn't matter how cold it is in here.