Sign in with
Your question

Artist building comp for graphics/video. First time builder

Last response: in Systems
September 4, 2009 9:22:56 AM

Hi all

I am new to this forum but used the site many times and read many threads before.

I have been putting together specs for a computer by looking at other peoples builds and changing where nessessary. I know nothing about building a computer and wanted some kind advice about my choices.

Specifically, will there be compatibility problems and does anyone feel that am I wasting money anywhere or cutting corners!

Thanks for your support

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: I will order comp next week I hope!

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Photoshop (with graphics tablet) and other graphics software. Watching and editing video (hobby only). I am an artist so image quality is of primary importance.

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: Floppy disk drive?

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: I am based in Tokyo, if anyone has any buying advice please let me know, if not, dont worry I have Japanese friends who can help!

PARTS PREFERENCES:

Motherboard

AMD™ 790FX or AMD™ 790GX (not sure of the difference!)

processor

AMD Phenom x4 955 (black) "3.2GHz, 6MB L3 Cache, 4x512kB L2 Cache, 2000 MHz Bus, Socket AM3 - MPN: HDZ955FBGIBOX"

Graphics

ATI radeon 4850 (1GB) or GTS 250

HDD

1TB 7200rpm Serial ATA

Memory

PSD36G1333KH Patriot DDR3-1333 (2GB*3pcs)  

Case/ Power supply/ DVD drive/ Fans etc

Advice appreciated

OVERCLOCKING: Maybe (I know nothing of overclocking and potential risks) SLI OR CROSSFIRE: Maybe (again, I know nothing!)

MONITOR RESOLUTION: Good quality monitor preffered, advice on a good resolution and size would be appreciated

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: I am really worried about making a mistake, missing something important, buying something that doesnt work well, or overheats, or wasting money on technology that will become redundant quickly. Thank you all in advance for taking the time to check for me!