Making sure i did not miss anything important

bamse28

Distinguished
Nov 14, 2011
Hello,

As this is my first attempt at overclocking, i would like a second opinion from you guys, i want to make sure i did not miss anything.

First, the spec i got a few years back, the idea i had was for all the parts to be quite easy instead to overclock at a later stage (and the time has come)

Asus Croshair IV Formula
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T BE
Corsair A70 air cooler
Patriot Viper Sector 5 2x2GB Memory kit (1333 Mhz)
Sapphire ATI Radeon 5870
Corsair 850W modular PSU

While i did read about the auto-overclock feature of my MB, i opted for a BIOS overclock instead.

So, after disabling Cool n Quiet, C1E and Turbo, and setting my memory to 1.65V and 7-7-7-20, I went ahead with playing with the CPU.
For starters, i wanted a small overclock so i decided to try 3600 (as if running in turbo mode all the time).
I have only changed the multiplier (from 16x to 18x) and after a bit of trial and error the Vcore to 1.3 (which felt really low, as the default turbo has a 1.42 setting if i am not mistaking). All other voltages were left on AUTO, and this is where i am a little concerned - is there any chance of the motherboard adjusting these voltages up to an overload point?

The PC was stable, and the temp under load was 38 degrees, indicating the chip can be pushed safely quite a bit more, though i only ran an 1 hour test using the AMD Overdrive application.

As a side note, after reading that during the stress tests you should keep a close eye on the temperatures, what do you guys do while running 8 or more hours tests?

The second question i have is what would be the top frequency i should aim for a 24/7 overclock (i plan on using this PC for a little bit more so i want to make sure i am not reducing the cpu's life span).

I use Intel CPU's, but you are asking mostly generic questions, so with that caveat ...

Learning to use the BIOS is good.