Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Computer reboots again and again

Last response: in Systems
September 5, 2009 3:43:29 PM

I have been building my systems since 1985 and this is the first time I have run into this problem. I have just rebuilt my system and it runs fine, normally. The problem started while I was playing Crysis. I would get to a certain point in the game and the display would turn a kind of pink color and the computer would freeze. No mouse or keyboard. The only option was to hold down the power button until it shut off. Obviously, this is not the unual part. The real problem is when I restart the computer it will begin the post for about 5 seconds and then the computer would shut down and restart. This sequence would continue until I held the power button down till it shut off completely. If I started it up again, it would continue the recycling. The only way to stop it is to disconnect the AC plug from the PSU and leave it unplugged for several minutes. It would then restart and boot up normally. My first thought was that it was the game, but the same thing occurred with MOH Airborne. I suspect it would happen with some of my other games as well. It seems to work fine otherwise.

One caveat, I am running Windows 7 release candidate. I am probably going to swap out the HD with a blank one and load that one with XP and see if I get the same problem. Any suggestions or ideas would be appreciated. My new system build is listed below.

MB: GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P
CPU: INTEL E8500 3.16G
CPUCOOLER : ARCTIC P4 ACFZ7-PRO R
MEMORY: 8G OCZ 1066 OCZ2B10664GK
HD: 1T WD SATA2 WD1001FALS
VIDEO: BFG GEFORCE GTX 260 OC
Windows 7 Ultimate RC

More about : computer reboots

Best solution

September 5, 2009 4:11:31 PM