Sign in with
Your question

Noob needs help getting i7 920 stable at 4.0GHz

Last response: in Overclocking
a b K Overclocking
November 18, 2011 9:36:30 AM

As the heading states, I am new at this.

Basic specs:
i7920 @4.0GHz(2.66GHz stock)
gigabyte x58-usb3
OCZ pc3 15000@1910MHz 10/10/10/28 1.65V
Top power 800 bronze

Basically, all I changed in the BIOS is

BCLK 191 *21 = 4.01GHz CPU
191*10 = 1910MHz RAM
PCI-e 100MHz
CPU voltage 1.325V
QPI/vtt auto(1.175)
DRAM 1.66V

I read that the QPI/vttt needs to be roughly equal to the CPU voltage but changing the voltage to as little as two steps above the auto setting resulted in continuous computer power cycles which I have to hit reset to stop. With the settings the way they are, I left prime95 running for approx 8 hours and when I went to bed it was still running with max core temp of 79 degrees C with no errors. When I woke up this morning, my computer had restarted but the BIOS did not revert back to default settings so I am guessing it was not catastrophic shutdown. I am not sure how much longer the test ran for but I figure that for everyday use 4.0GHz might be ok or I may revert back to 3.8GHz and see if the test lasts longer.

Did I miss anything that should have been changed? Would you be happy with my results?

More about : noob 920 stable 0ghz

a c 223 à CPUs
a c 136 K Overclocking
November 18, 2011 10:13:05 AM

What cooler are you using?

79Degrees Celsius is too hot.
m
l
a b K Overclocking
November 18, 2011 11:25:47 AM