Sign in with
Your question

Is my CPU overheating?

Last response: in CPUs
November 28, 2009 9:28:07 AM

Hi guys, this is my first time posting
I have a HP Pavillion Dv7 2018TX running on Intel Duo core P8700 at idle around 80C (using EVEREST). Just wondering is this normal for a laptop temperature. I have my HDD and 1 of the ram fix under warranteed last week. Probably due to overheat. This probelm start when I installed Windows7 using the HP Upgrade discs. Does running on 7 have any effect on increased temperature? My laptop's factory OS is Vista. Any help would be kindly appreciated.
Cheers.

More about : cpu overheating

November 28, 2009 10:37:22 AM

80°C..u use this machine for coking?...is way too much,even for a full load. This is a next future dead laptop on this temps. U better call warranty for a check-up on this machine. And windows 7 it wont effect the increase of the temperature,i run win 7 on my Asus laptop with no problems,i was having problems under Vista. U have installed all the drivers ...right? And maybe a clean fresh install is more adequate. My machine under vista was running with 70-72°C Core temps under load, now 50-52 °C. A T 7500 core duo Cetrino processor with a lame cooling unit. Nothing new on a laptop. If warranty service won't help u, just fry the dam toaster,RMA and get a new one,or a new,replaced, mainboard on it.Anyway,do it on time.And i think is not a bad idea to buy a laptop cooler. Try first with the drivers,make a check-up with some benchmark software like SiSoft Sandra lite,for a system check-up and hardware check-up 1by 1, sometimes u get good "advice" from this tools...or fresh clean install of the OS. If doesn't help, go to professionals...Good Luck.
a b à CPUs
November 28, 2009 12:17:49 PM

like technuttso said, it's very dangerous if u stays at that high temp...
it must be something's wrong with your laptop.
Related resources
Can't find your answer ? Ask !
a b à CPUs
November 28, 2009 1:31:03 PM