Need advice on a $1000 Video Editing/Gaming Build *Updated!*

leoblack9

Distinguished
Sep 7, 2009
Hello there everyone! I've been reading allot (perhaps even geeking a lot) on the many different components that I could use. So I've some questions on my mind as well. I'm a college student whose hobby is mostly video editing and does gaming when I've nothing else to do.

Computer Usage from Most to Least Important: Video Editing (Considering HD Movie editing as well), DVD Burning, HD Movie Viewing, Gaming.

Websites: I prefer NewEgg, but I won't buy online so phooey

Resolution: 1280x1024, or 1680x1280

Overclock: NO

SLi/Crossfire: NO

What I don't need: Speakers, computer chair

WHAT I NEED:

Monitor: SAMSUNG SYNCMASTER 943SWX High Glossy Black 18.5" 5ms Widescreen LCD Monitor 250 cd/m2 15000:1 (DC) w/ HDCP Support - Retail

Graphics card: SAPPHIRE 100277L Radeon HD 4770 512MB 128-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Retail

Processor: Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz 4 x 256KB L2 Cache 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Processor - Retail

Motherboard
: ASRock X58 Extreme LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

Memory: CORSAIR XMS3 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Triple Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model TR3X6G1333C9 - Retail

Some more background info about what I need:

What type of Video editing? I use mostly Sony Vegas (I like putting effects/compositing a lot), and I'm currently learning Adobe Premier, After Effects, and Visionlab

What games? I wont play crysis so don't worry, no new games either. Ranging from Warcraft to Battle Realms to Red Alert 4, some need for speed games, and GTA VC and SA. Currently waiting for Diablo 3, Starcraft 2 and GTA IV for PC.

My Computer is on a corner in my room surrounded by walls. But I'm ready for the scorching heat for the performance.