Question on Overclocking and CPU's Life

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tlechem

Distinguished
Oct 30, 2010
OK, so I am fairly new to overclocking, but I kinda have the jist of it.

I am just curious, what exactly is it that shortens the cpu's life when overclocking? I know when you oc, you add voltage and that creates more heat. Is this what shortens the life? Then if I have a good cooler, will this make it so that the cpu's life is not shortened, because my temps are kept cool. Just curious, because I dont want to shorten my cpu's life just for a speed boost.

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103808

Motherboard:MSI 870-G45
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130290R&Tpk=MSI%20870-G45%20AM3

Solution
i have overclocked every CPU I have ever owned, and i have NEVER had one fail. It really depends how far you are pushing it (particularly when increasing voltage) and how cool you keep it. A phenom 955 needs to be kept really cool to be stable, and around 3.8ghz it a good place to aim for overclocking without having to pump up the voltage too much. So you will need to buy a good cooler. If I were you I would go for an intel setup, core i3 or i5 2xxx chip and motherboard. Even if you dont get the more expensive K series cpu for overclocking, it will still be as fast or faster than an OC'd phenom 955 in most games (assuming your building a gaming PC) and you have much better upgrade options for the future. I really dont see the point in...