1st Time Overlock - Advice Requested

guenter

Distinguished
Nov 22, 2011
Greetings community. This is my very first build, and of course, my first attempt at overclocking. I am inquiring as to if my current settings are reasonable/stable, and if I might be able to push my system a little further. I apologize in advance for its length. Im still learning, and have many questions.

System Specs:

Motherboard - ASUS M5A97
CPU - AMD Phenom II x4 970 Black Edition 3.5Ghz (currently overclocked to 3.97Ghz)
CPU Cooler - Thermaltake Frio
Memory - 8GB (2x4Gb) Patriot Viper Extreme DDR3 1600MHz
Graphics - PNY GTX 560 ti OC2
Power Supply - Corsair TX650M
Storage - Corsair Force 3 SSD 120Gb
OS - Windows Home Premium 64bit OEM
Case - Cooler Master HAF 922

I was little weary about diving in head first, and fortunately, my board came with the AI2 suite that can automatically overclock.

This is how I arrived at my current settings (when viewing from the main UEFI BIOS page or the first few tabs in advanced mode):

CPU - 3.97Ghz @ 1.48volts
5v - currently set at 5.035 (not entirely sure what this is)
3.3v - 3.288 (also, not entirely sure what this is)
12v - 11.8
CPU bus/peg frequency - 225
Ram timing - 5 5 5 15 (manually adjusted to specifications listed on package - it seems the auto overclock changed it)
Core unlocker disabled
Cool n Quiet mode disabled

The trouble that I'm having is that most of the guides I see online are either a few years old or for Intel processors. For example, the most common tip for new overclocker's is to raise the FSB. I'm assuming this is the CPU Bus/PEG Frequency setting in BIOS, however, I recall reading somewhere that AMD now uses something called an HT link instead (I could be mistaken).