Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Overclocking 101 requested

Last response: in Overclocking
November 24, 2011 10:07:43 PM

I'm new to the world of overclocking and frankly...a little scared to melt my PC. Which is why I come to you my dear community, for a step-by-step basics to overclocking a CPU (and a GPU at some point).

Setup:
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E8400
RAM: G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333
Graphics Card: SAPPHIRE 100312-3SR Radeon HD 6950 Dirt3 Edition 2GB
HDDx2: Western Digital Caviar Blue WD5000AAKS 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5
MOBO: Intel BOXDX48BT2 LGA 775 Intel X48 ATX Intel Motherboard
PSU: Thermaltake TR2 RX W0134RU 550W ATX12V Ver2.2

I should also mention that I'm using the stock fan that came with my processor. I understand that a higher quality cooling system is preferred for this process so that you can overclock the CPU even higher, but the process for finding a stable point for your CPU should be the same no matter what your cooling system is (right...?).

I just got done reading an older "101" guide to overclocking, which was indeed quite informative but still left me hesitant to start actually doing anything. One point of confusion for me was when the article talks about memory.

Quote:

DDR3-1333 (PC3-10666) 9-9-9-24
DDR3-1600 (PC3-12800) 7-7-7-20

The number after it is the data transfer rate. Simply divide it by 4 to get the maximum FSB speed for which the module is rated. Example: 1600/4 = 400 MHz. Therefore, DDR3-1600 can work on systems with a FSB of up to 400 MHz

If I understand this correctly, then I can't overclock my processor beyond its stock frequency. My RAM is DDR3-1333. 1333 divided by 4 equals ~333MHz, which my CPU Clock frequency is already set to, as well as its max Processor Multiplier of x9. 333MHz x 9 = 2997MHz or 3.0GHz, the stock processor speed.

Anyways, that's more getting into the specifics of things. What I really want to know is: