Sign in with
Your question

GA-EX58-UD3R, Sata hard drives and an IDE disk drive problem

Last response: in Motherboards
February 27, 2010 10:30:37 PM

I am by no means a hardware expert, so I bow my head to the hardware Gurus.

My scenario, I have :

GA-EX58-UD3R Motherboard
3 Sata Hard Drives
A CD/DVD combo on the IDE
NO IDE HARD DRIVE
NO FLOPPY DRIVE

I installed the trial version of windows 7 a while back with my new computer hardware. However, my CD/DVD drive stopped working, so off I went and bought a new one... this also didn't work

I've looked into the jumper options.. and all the options I've tried for the CD/DVD still do not make the drive visible in the bios or operating system (Master.. and at the end of the cable, slave and Cable Select)

Is it actually possible to have and IDE CD/DVD drive when you only have Sata hard drives? ( I just can't believe it would be possible!)
I've been playing around with the bios for... well months, and I just gave up

Now my windows activation is about to run out, and I have no way of installing windows 7 without a cd/dvd drive. So my questions are

for my scenario:

1) Should the CD/DVD combo drive be set up as a Master on the jumper options (It's the only one on the IDE cable, it's added to the end of the cable, and the end of the cable does not have a blue end)

2) Is there something simple that needs to be set in the bios, when you only have a CD/DVD on the IDE ports, and the rest Sata Drives ?
a c 435 V Motherboard
February 27, 2010 10:53:13 PM