Asus P7P55D
HD 5850
4GB G.Skill Ram 2x2
CM Storm Scout casing
1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3
Samsung 22x dvdrw
Samsung p2250 21.5"

Regarding the PSU:

I've been recommended a 650w, 600w, down to a 500w PSU. Suppose I stick to brand-name, highly recommended PSU's, what power do I need?

Overclocking will be done and this will stay a single-GPU build. I don't think I need a Mod PSU either. I'm looking at the Corsair VX550, TX650, or Silver Stone 500w ST50EF-Plus. All around the same price here in the Philippines (tx650 is a bit more but acceptable). any thoughts?

Now regarding the CM storm scout case:

Will everything fit?! And do I need any extensions and/or extra cables which aren't already provided when the time comes to actually build this thing? Sorry if these questions are a little silly. I'm a first time builder and I just want to get it right. Thanks for reading.

Best solution

a c 248 ) Power supply
a b Ô Samsung
November 30, 2009 9:33:29 PM

The general rule of thumb is a high quality 500 to 550 watt power supply with sufficient current (amps) on the 12 volt rail(s) can easily power an overclocked system with any single video card made. A high quality 700 to 750 watt power supply with sufficient current (amps) on the 12 volt rail(s) can power a system with two video cards operating in dual mode. There are a few exceptions like the new ATI Radeon HD 5000 series cards which use less power due to their energy efficiency.

A high quality 500 to 550 watt psu will have a +12 volt rail rated at 40 amps. A high quality 700 to 750 watt psu will have a +12 volt rail rated at 60 amps.

In addition the power supply should be at least 80+ Bronze certified for energy efficiency.

Here are the official power requirements for the new ATI Radeon HD 5850 and HD 5870 video cards.

ATI Radeon™ HD5850 System Requirements:

PCI Express® based PC is required with one X16 lane graphics slot available on the motherboard