Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Questions before confirming my SSD purchase

Last response: in Storage
July 8, 2011 2:15:20 AM

I am looking into getting an SSD yet again as I now feel prices are getting to a more sensible point Im considering it a lot more. Im a student so I dont have tons of money to throw away which is why i want to make sure I only get one if I can justify it.

My biggest usage for my PC are
-gaming
-the office package
-website development (adobe suite, multiple internet explorers, notepad ++ etc)
-listening to music and watching movies.

So I know I will gain on boot times for OS and my programs but will opening files be if i store files on my HDD and not my ssd? i.e. I do a lot of editing in photoshop and have to open many different files at a time. I know id get a speed increase if the files and program is installed on the SSD but what about if the files are stored on HDD?

I will get faster level loading times in games as far as ive read?

Is there any other substantial gains I might get? Ive done quite a bit of reading and think im trying to justify the purchase to myself lol!

I live in the UK and im in the USA for the next month so if I buy one out here Ill save a lot of cash. I was looking at 120-128gb and samsung , ocz , crucial, corsair or Intel (so pretty much most of them!)

I was looking at getting my friend to buy from amazon or newegg or possibly going into the local Frys store and buying from there.

many thanks!!
a c 290 G Storage
July 8, 2011 3:40:14 AM

Have you visited the Adobe Photoshop forums?