Few questions

boris20

Distinguished
May 6, 2009
Im pretty new to OC'ing and trying my hand at beefin my speeds a bit to prolong the gaming life of my rig. Here are my specs before I start asking questions.

Mobo - Gigabyte MA-790gtp-UD3H
Ram - 8 gigs 4x2gig sticks DDr3 1333
Vid card - AMD 5770, soon to be 6950 once it arrives
CPU - AMD Phenom II 955x4
Wind 7 64bit
750w PSU not sure what brand
Case has front and rear 120mm fans i think

Im not sure as to what the easiest method of OC'in this system would be. I have AMD overdrive downloaded but havent done anything as of yet.

- How do i see what speeds my mobo is allowing my ram to run at? Right now all i see for numbers that I would assume is overdrive is saying Frequency 673 MHz.

- For a starter like me, should I just let Overdrive do the work and stay away from BIOS settings?

- for Overdrive to OC my system, does it need to be running at all times or does it set the speeds and they stay at that until i change them?

Ive read around on OC guides, looked thru these forums, most are talking about BIOs stuff, I dont mind getting into all that if need be, I usually catch on to stuff well, but Im not looking to max this sucker out, mainly just want to make sure my mobo is utilizing all of my RAM and my CPU is running a bit faster. I had read somewhere that this mobo doesnt like to support the full 8gb or ram, nor the speeds.

suteck

Distinguished