Kingston HyperX 1600mhz 12gb ram not stabilizing at all in overclock

paradoxeternal

Distinguished
Oct 30, 2011
hi, i'm new to overclocking but i have done my research, reading other people's experiences on forums, learning how things work, reading the amd black edition OC guide here on tom's hardware, etc.

my components are pretty good for OC'ing, i think: amd phenom ii x6 1100t, gigabyte 990fxa-ud5 mobo and my kingston hyperx 1600mhz RAM which has been giving me problems.

i managed to get my CPU to 3.9 ghz at 1.475vcore with the northbridge speed at 2400 mhz and voltage at 1.110v. i was able to run the prime95 small fft test for 6 hours which seems to indicate my northbridge is stable,

HOWEVER, i have not gotten the blend test stable, which leads me to believe my RAM is causing the instability. at times my PC crashes after a few min running the test, other times i just drop cores. i tried reducing the RAM speed at the standard 9-9-9-27 timings but i couldn't get stability. when i bumped the timings up to 11-11-11-29 (where my mobo at them at auto) i was able to get over an hour of the blend test before dropping 1 core. this was at 1600mhz.

i just tried the blend test again at 1333mhz with the same timings but the program crashed after about 7 minutes.

i don't know what else to do or try. should i just shoot for a lower clock speed? is there something wrong with my RAM? should i play around with the timings? if so, how? or maybe the RAM isn't causing the instability after all? sorry for all the questions, and i realize that i'm supposed to figure all this out by myself with OCing but google searches have yielded nothing and i hope an OCing veteran could provide some advice.

thank you for your time