Distinguished
Jul 9, 2011
Hello, world!
I am new to enthusiast PC building, in practice. Here are my current specs:

AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition
Asus M4A78T-E motherboard
4x2GB DDR3 Corsair XMS3 1333MHz RAM
HIS H695FN2G2M Radeon HD 6950 video card w/ 2GB GDDR5
3x1TB Seagate ST31000528AS Barracuda SATA 3Gbit 7200rpm HDDs (configured in RAID 5 via onboard controller)
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
No overclocking (yet)

I built this system in October 2009 minus half the RAM and the video card. The onboard Radeon HD 3300 was able to handle my needs decently, despite some small desktop annoyances related to switching my TV's input (32in Dynex 720p flat panel LCD connected via HDMI). Aside from standard web and home office uses, I have done some sporadic gaming and media playback / encoding with few problems. Looking forward, I am planning to do more PC gaming and less console given the rise of compatibility with the Xbox 360 controller, (my diNovo edge wireless keyboard / trackpad combo is hardly suited to gaming) as well as trading my 2 TiVos (long story) for a PCIe cableCARD solution that's caught my eye, and possibly some video editing and a return to programming.

Anyhow, I was recently hit with the enthusiast bug after reading about the advances in SSDs, and along with the aforementioned video and RAM upgrades I attempted the following combo:
OCZ 240GB RevoDrive X2 PCIe SSD
Promise Fasttrak S150 SX4-M PCI SATA RAID controller card