Newbie! Overclocking my e5800

Katylar

Distinguished
Nov 20, 2011
Hi!

I'm a newbie when it comes to overclocking, and I've been reading up on the process for a while now. Unfortunately, it seems that everyone has their own opinion of what works and what doesn't, which tools are the best, and the process itself is very case-to-case.

So I was hoping for some basic steps on what to do.

First, I just want to increase my performance even by just a small bit. My case has a large fan, and my room itself is pretty cool, so I don't plan to install any cooling systems or upgrade by PSU's aside from my stock.

My Specs

Name Intel Pentium E5800
Codename Wolfdale
Specification Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU E5800 @ 3.20GHz
Package (platform ID) Socket 775 LGA (0x0)
CPUID 6.7.A
Extended CPUID 6.17
Core Stepping R0
Technology 45 nm
TDP Limit 65 Watts
Core Speed 1197.0 MHz
Multiplier x FSB 6.0 x 199.5 MHz
Rated Bus speed 798.0 MHz
Stock frequency 3200 MHz

1-2.png

2-1.png

3.png

-------------------

I've downloaded most of the software that people cite: Prime 95 (v26 - 64 bit), Aida 64 Extreme, Memtest86.. etc.

I'm currently running Windows 7 Professional, and it's a fresh install. I've updated the BIOS version to the latest one from the Intel Site. It's such a shame that my MoBo maxes out at 4GB RAM, so until I upgrade my board, I'll be living with the 2GB (I'll buy another 2GB module next week).

Can anyone help or point me in the right direction?

Thanks!

Katylar

Distinguished
Nov 20, 2011
I realized that my Intel MoBo won't allow overclocking. As such, my current option is to use a Software Overclocker.

I've checked and my PLL is SLG8XP548T (Silego). I can't seem to find support for it amongst the ClockGen, CPUCool, CPUFSB and SetFSB apps.

So I'll be doing a Software overclock, just to get that incremental speed boost. Any advice?

Thanks!