Sign in with
Your question

Newbie! Overclocking my e5800

Last response: in Overclocking
November 29, 2011 3:34:09 PM

Hi!

I'm a newbie when it comes to overclocking, and I've been reading up on the process for a while now. Unfortunately, it seems that everyone has their own opinion of what works and what doesn't, which tools are the best, and the process itself is very case-to-case.

So I was hoping for some basic steps on what to do.

First, I just want to increase my performance even by just a small bit. My case has a large fan, and my room itself is pretty cool, so I don't plan to install any cooling systems or upgrade by PSU's aside from my stock.

My Specs

Name Intel Pentium E5800
Codename Wolfdale
Specification Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU E5800 @ 3.20GHz
Package (platform ID) Socket 775 LGA (0x0)
CPUID 6.7.A
Extended CPUID 6.17
Core Stepping R0
Technology 45 nm
TDP Limit 65 Watts
Core Speed 1197.0 MHz
Multiplier x FSB 6.0 x 199.5 MHz
Rated Bus speed 798.0 MHz
Stock frequency 3200 MHz

-------------------

I've downloaded most of the software that people cite: Prime 95 (v26 - 64 bit), Aida 64 Extreme, Memtest86.. etc.

I'm currently running Windows 7 Professional, and it's a fresh install. I've updated the BIOS version to the latest one from the Intel Site. It's such a shame that my MoBo maxes out at 4GB RAM, so until I upgrade my board, I'll be living with the 2GB (I'll buy another 2GB module next week).

Can anyone help or point me in the right direction?

Thanks!
November 29, 2011 5:37:06 PM

I realized that my Intel MoBo won't allow overclocking. As such, my current option is to use a Software Overclocker.

I've checked and my PLL is SLG8XP548T (Silego). I can't seem to find support for it amongst the ClockGen, CPUCool, CPUFSB and SetFSB apps.

So I'll be doing a Software overclock, just to get that incremental speed boost. Any advice?

Thanks!
m
l
a b K Overclocking
November 29, 2011 11:50:26 PM