Intel 320 vs OCZ Agility 3

Ryker

Distinguished
Jul 9, 2011
Basically, this is my first time buying an SSD drive and I want to use it as the OS/system disk. I'll be getting a new computer and the motherboard supports SATA III. Having said that, I can't decide between getting the Intel 320 series or the OCZ Agility 3 one. As far as the first is concerned, I heard good things about its reliability, whereas I've heard some bad stuff about the OCZ's SSD's. On the other hand, Agility 3 would use SATA III, whereas Intel 320 wouldn't. OCZ also seems to perform better.

Yeah, I don't know, do you guys have any advice here?

The Intel® SSD 320 drives are the most reliable SSDs on the market. They are also the only SSD that comes with a 5 year warranty. While they are only SATA II the performance that they offer is very good for a SATA II drive. For additional information on the Intel SSD 320 you can check this out http://www.intel.com/design/flash/nand/320series/overview.htm.

Christian Wood
Intel Enthusiast Team

IntelEnthusiast is correct. In terms of synthetic benchmarks, the Intel 320 is not a speed demon. However, in real world applications, the 320 can defnitely hold it's own.

Hope you have some spare time. Here's a link to the ssd database where you'll find no less than 11 links to technical reviews of the Intel 320 series solid state drives:

http://www.johnnylucky.org/data-storage/ssd-database.html

Just scroll down to the Intel ssd section.

Well the latest news being that the intel 320 series apparently have that bug where if you have an unexpected loss of power it could revert to a storage capacity of 8 MB.

http://www.tomshardware.com/news/intel-bug-ssd-320-series,13076.html