Sign in with
Your question
Solved

What about Phenom II x4 965 and 790FX?

Last response: in Memory
March 4, 2010 6:46:48 PM

I am new to the whole building of pc rigs. This is going to be my first build and I am double, triple, and sometimes quadruple checking myself on everything. I have particularly been going absolutely insane over memory. :cry:  I find some that seem compatible with my mobo (m4a79t deluxe 790fx chipset) and seems to be well recommended only to hear or read that someone who had a AMD anything or a 790FX chipset had major failures. Or I see something like "The ultimate memory for Intel Core i5 & Core i7 CPU" :pfff:  I am at wits end here. Isn't there something reliable for phenom II x4 965 and 790fx?? Aren't I supposed to get the best RAM I can afford?? How can I do that when all the supposedly "good" ram is incompatible? Please help me! I'm on the verge of a break down.

More about : phenom 965 790fx

a c 128 } Memory
March 4, 2010 8:39:58 PM

I would select a different chipset if you're that worried. The 785 is newer and the new 8xx series will be out soon. You can also purchase ram at frys and try it for 15 days with no restocking fee if you have to return it. Newegg may charge you 15%.
a b } Memory
March 4, 2010 9:06:23 PM

The surest way is to go to the motherboard manufacturers website and there will be a list of recommended memory types for that board.
I have built dozens of machines and I have had only one pb with a brand that a mobo didn't like. So I rarely check before ordering ram, but I do read the reviews on Newegg.com to see if there are any issues with the board I've picked.

It looks like you're building a gaming rig, I would get high performance memory. I like OZC, Corsair is a reliable name. For DDR3, I have read quite a few reviews on the Gskill ripjaws and they look fast. Look for cl 7 or 8, unless overclocking the ram/FSB is what your after, then relaxed timings might be a better fit.

Here's a decent looking set.