Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Coolermaster HAF 922 and Antec Truepower New 750W questions

Last response: in Components
December 5, 2009 6:23:51 AM

Sorry if these are newb questions, but I am a first time system builder, and want to make sure I get things right.

The fan on the Truepower New 750W PSU is an intake fan, right?

I believe the ideal airflow with the Coolermaster HAF 922 case is to have air drawn in from the front and bottom and exhausted from the top and rear, right?

Since the HAF922 only supports installation of the PSU at the bottom, this means I should mount the PSU with the fan facing down right?

Thanks in advance for any advice you can give me!
a b ) Power supply
December 5, 2009 8:41:07 AM

yes downward facing and it helps with safety
m
l
a c 243 ) Power supply
December 5, 2009 11:37:42 AM

Quote:
NO, if the psu mounts on the bottom of the case, you want the fan facing up.

It's a matter of personal preference, depending on wether you want the psu to act as part of the cooling system or not, I prefer not.
m
l
Related resources
a c 248 ) Power supply
December 5, 2009 11:54:59 AM

The answer to your first question is yes! The fan pulls in warm air from the interior of the case and exhausts out the rear panel of the case. That is the standard atx specification.

Power supplies are mounted in the bottom rear of the HAF 922. Normally you would install the power supply with the fan on top so you could still use the power supply to help with case cooling. That's normal.