Desktop Hangs on Standby

galin54

Distinguished
Sep 15, 2009
Hi, I have never tried posting here before, but I'm not sure what to do about this problem and I was hoping somebody could help shed some light on the subject. This happens occasionally (maybe 1 in 4 times) when the system goes into standby mode when inactive.

The computer appears to stand by and the case fans/LED's all go off, but the LED's on the USB keyboard and mouse stay on. When I try to wake the computer from standby, the keyboard/mouse will not wake it. In fact, the reset and power button also have no effect. The only way I am able to boot the system is to unplug the power or shut off the power supply for 5-10 seconds, then turn it on. From what I have read, the answers seem to be that I should just fully disable the standby/hibernate mode since it is a desktop, but what I want to know is whether there is a hardware problem that I could possibly fix with an RMA. I just built this computer a couple weeks ago, so I still have time on warranties to get a replacement part if something is bad.

I am using Vista 64 bit with a Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD4P motherboard, XFX Radeon HD 4890 graphics, and 8 GB Crucial DDR2 1066 SDRAM if any of that is relevant to the discussion.

Thanks.

AsAnAtheist

Distinguished
Sep 15, 2009
Hehe I ran into this problem as well.

Go to power settings you will notice you have Stand by on, and for the "Harddrive shut down" on.

What happens is your computer goes to stand by mode, then later shuts down the harddrives. Without the harddrives to operate OS, your stuck with a PC with power on with no display, no OS.
A lot of times the reset button wont work here, and neither will the power.

Solution:

Go to Control Panel> Power options> You might need to go to Advanced. But look for the "turn off harddrives" and make sure it is OFF. After that enjoy :)

steppenwolff

Distinguished
Mar 22, 2010