Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Need help choosing a few parts on a Phenom II 955 build

Last response: in Systems
September 15, 2009 11:32:00 PM

Hi!
This is my first build, and I want something that will last a few years, and then will be upgradeable if I need more performance later on. I´ve been doing some reading but there´s so much information out there I decided I should ask for help on this build.

I´m from Mexico, so shipping CAN be a problem sometimes, I do have an uncle in Texas who´s been helping me with a few of the parts that internet stores won´t ship to Mexico.

Now, as recomended on the *How to ask for new build advise* thread, here´s the format, I´ll try to stick to it as much as possible.

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: Ongoing, want to finish ASAP.
BUDGET RANGE: As cheap as possible without sacrificing quality.

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Gaming, watching movies, video editing, surfing the internet.

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: I already have the CPU (AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition HDZ955FBGIBOX), the Motherboard (Asus M4A79T Deluxe), 4Gb of Kingston HyperX DDR3 (4GB Kit 1600MHZ DDR3 Dimm), the GPU (ATI Radeon HD 4870 1Gb) and the monitor (ASUS VW246H)

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: None really, I would mostly like to get input from you guys and then check with local dealers, however, good deals online are welcome.

PARTS PREFERENCES:

Well, I´ve heard good things about Western Digital HDs, and I´ll probably be looking for 500-640Gb storage, I am however curious about the difference between their blue, green and black lines (green and black look nicest to me).

CD/DVD I trust Samsung the most, but some input in here would be great too. I probably will only get one CD/DVD player/burner for now, and once blu-ray gets cheaper get one of those.