Beginner: Can I raid 0 two 120gb SSD and then have extra storage?

airconductor

Distinguished
Jul 15, 2011
Hello, this is my first time building a pc from scratch. I keep reading the performance boost by putting SSD's in Raid 0. The problem is with the price of high capacity SSDs. So my question is can i put two 120gb 6gb/s SSDs in Raid-0 and then have more storage space in the form of HDDs?(not necessarily in Raid)

Solution
Yes, but you shouldn't do the RAID part.

It's current best-practice to install your OS and programs on the SSD, which gives snappier startup and application loading, and then have HDDs for large amounts of data where the access and transfer speeds are less critical. That's the "Yes" part of my answer.

The "No" part of my answer is that SSDs should not be RAIDed with the current state of software, controllers, and firmware. The current wisdom (and I have been contradicted once on this, just this week, so maybe things are changing) is that A) Using RAID breaks the use of the TRIM command, so drive performance will degrade over time, and B) The SSD manufacturers build larger drives in the same series with more memory channels, so...
Yes, but you shouldn't do the RAID part.

It's current best-practice to install your OS and programs on the SSD, which gives snappier startup and application loading, and then have HDDs for large amounts of data where the access and transfer speeds are less critical. That's the "Yes" part of my answer.