• Drivers
  • Fan
  • Monitors
  • Graphics
  • Product
Last response: in Graphics & Displays
October 2, 2009 8:54:03 PM

Hi,

I bought a new 9800 GT and have been having some issues with it. After getting my old drivers uninstalled, installing new card, then reinstalling drivers, everything seemed to work. But once I started playing a game on it and the card heated up, the fan had to kick on.

Once the fan kicked on it got noticeably louder and the monitor went black. The computer didn't restart or anything, the monitor just went black. Then when I tried to restart my computer, even after hours of letting it "cool down", the fan was still on high speed and the monitor stayed black.

I have no onboard video, so the only way I could get it fixed was by putting my old card in again, uninstalling the drivers, and reinstalling the new card all over again. But it does the same thing any time the fan has to come on.

It only happens after the card starts warming up and the fan needs to kick on to keep it cool. I don't think its really overheating, because it happens so quick after I start playing a game. It idles at about 40C, but I haven't had a chance to see what it gets at when the fan kicks on.

Any ideas what the problem might be? Also, is there something I could get to lock the fan speed at a low rate? I tried RivaTuner but I must have done something wrong, or set the speed too high still (40%).

More about : 9800 xfx fan monitor problem

a b C Monitor
October 2, 2009 9:03:30 PM

Sounds like a hardware issue. Use RivaTuner to get the card running at full fan speed and then boot up a game. It might also be a driver issue. What game are you trying to run it with? Have you tried multiple games?
m
l
October 2, 2009 9:18:42 PM

Yes, I've tried multiple games. First when I was messing around on Armadillo Run, which is why I doubt it's over heating, then when I was playing CoD: World at War.