david2655

Distinguished
Jun 7, 2011
Hi everyone, im a first time builder and ive done a lot of research, and i was thinking about what storage i want for my build. Its going to be for casual use, internet etc. and gaming. Ive narrowed it down to these:

1xHDD ~ £40

2xHDD's in raid 0 ~ £80

1xSSD(60gb boot drive/basic apps) + 1 HDD(storage) ~ £140

1xSSD(60gb boot drive/basic apps) + 2 HDD's in raid 0 ~ £180

the drives i was looking at were a samsung spinpoint F3 1TB for the HDD and a OCZ 60GB Agility 3 for the SSD.

Price isnt a massive issue, but i want the best value, if that makes sense :kaola: so id like to hear your view and opinions!

oh, and i reckon i only need about 1TB of storage, im looking for comments based purely on comparing price-performance

No heartburn with SSD + raid0 HDD setup. Remember Raid0 will only benifit working with large file types such as: DVD 1 gig vobs, Bluray video (upto 40 gigs for one file), CAD/CAM drawings, Large spreadsheet and Photes. Game maps may load slightly faster.

On SSD, Highly recommend a larger SSD. 60 May sound find, but may find downstream that it was a poor choice. Min size, 80 gigs - recommended size - 120->128 gig.

For SATA III SSDs - two choices really, the SF22xx based SSD and the Marvel Based SSDs. The SF22xx SSDs (ie Vertex3/agility III) are the fastest going by benchmarks, but in real life only 10->15% higher performance. Note 10-15% performance diff in day-to-day workload is normally not enought to notice. The Marvel based SSDs (C300, M4, Intel 510, also a Plextor model) are less probmatic (that is they have a lower "customer DISsatifaction").

And I put my money where my mouth is, Just ordered the crucial 128 gig M4.
Note (private rant): I own two 120 gig agility III - Never again will OCZ see the inside of my computer.

david2655

Distinguished
Jun 7, 2011