Sign in with
Your question

Opinions on PC please

Last response: in Systems
September 19, 2009 6:02:04 AM

Hello --

First off, I am a student that lives on my own and attends university so money isn't exactly overly-abundant. I am planning on purchasing something in an LGA1156 socket sometimes late / early next year however I need a PC right now.

A friend of mine has offered me his old hardware and I am looking for some opinions on whether it will be sufficient for my uses. The system I am currently using is very old and outdated and although it runs very cleanly it just does not have to hardware to do anything other than surf the web and chat. I do play WoW and am looking at getting into Aion and TF2. As I'm looking for something to just hold me over I thought that his offer was very good and am hoping some of your more experienced users have an opinion.

Current PC - Yes I know its ancient :p 

P4 1.8GHZ
2g SD Ram
x2 80g HDD
ATI Radeon 9250 (PCI -- Yes the 33mhz bandwidth garbage stuff :p )

Offered Parts -

GA-965P-DS3 (rev. 3.3)
e6300 1.8ghz w/ After Market Cooling (Zalman I believe)
6G ddr2 1066mhz

He is asking $120CAD for those 3 items.

I still have pieces from my PC that died on me;

Antec 300
Ultra 650W PSU
ATI 4850
80G WD HDD
DVD-RW
Win XP 32/64 and Vista OS's as well.

Also he said he never overclocked anything. So any opinions are welcomed, is that PC a good deal to hold me over until I can get some more money (Feb/March) for the things that I do with it? I am not too familiar with that p965 chipset. I was thinking I could take that e6300 up to 2.5GHZ pretty stable and there is a lot of memory included in the deal. Oh yeah, Does that Board Support the e5300 Wolfdales?

Thanks!

More about : opinions

September 19, 2009 11:50:35 AM

The E6300 is vastly superior to any P4, so the offered parts would be a major upgrade.