Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Help with the right equipment

Last response: in Overclocking
December 12, 2011 11:25:35 PM

Before I mess with my new PC, I will practice with my old PC first. This is my first time to overclock.

Components:
Mobo: MSIK9N6PGM2-V2
Proc: AMD Athlon II X4 2.8Ghz 2MB Cache, AM3 socket
VGA: 9400 GT
PSU: Generic, included PSU of my Orion Case. 600w. NOT 80+
RAM: 2 pcs Kingston 2GB DDR2 800

Question is, will this suffice for my basic learning of OC? Or should I go buy a better PSU and CPU Cooler? Any recommendations? Hope it doesn't cost much cause I'm just gonna use it for learning experience without, of course, breaking or frying my components.

Thanks a lot in Advance for the Help :) 

More about : equipment

a c 104 À AMD
a c 138 K Overclocking
December 12, 2011 11:40:20 PM

The components are good enough and you don't need to buy anything. Since you have an AMD cpu and they are known for making a lot of heat you could consider getting a good heatsink/fan or a higher cfm fan to put on the heatsink you have.
m
l
December 12, 2011 11:43:19 PM

Thanks for the reply inzone.

Thanks for the assurance. At least now I won't be afraid that I might damage my pc :D 
Ok, i'll try to look for that. thanks thanks! :D 
m
l
Related resources

Best solution

December 17, 2011 1:24:10 AM

I am also pretty new overclocker but i have to say that you really dont want to overclock your cpu with a generic PSU, why?

Generic PSU (as many reviews says and also ppl i have asked) tend to be time bombs. The mayor problem is not if it's going to blow, it's when. When this happen the PSU is not the only which will die, also it will take any other important component like CPU, Mobo or HardDrive.

The 1st I time decided to buy something to do some overclocks was a certified PSU. It is not a big deal (just a CoolerMaster GX450W) but its an huge improvement from my generic psu, also some problmes like random restarts were solved with it.

Advice? Do what I do: