Universal gpu block and 3/4" compression fittings

Tags:
  • Water Cooling
  • Compression
  • GPUs
  • Overclocking
Last response: in Overclocking
December 14, 2011 2:15:08 AM

So being that I'm new to watercooling, I've been learning as I go. I've been making things harder for myself with dumb mistakes (aka getting XSPC 750 RX360 water cooling kit).. if I were to do it over again I'd get a smaller radiator.. the 360mm radiator that came with the kit is very difficult to fit internally in a case (although I fixed that with the HAF X case). The other thing I made a mistake with was going with 1/2" ID 3/4" OD tubing and going for 3/4" compression fittings. I've known I'd want a universal GPU block for a while, and I can't seem to find one that will fit my compression fittings (http://www.performance-pcs.com/catalog/index.php?main_p...). I bought 2 extra when I was originally setting up my CPU only loop in anticipation of adding my gpu to the loop at a later date, and now I'm finding that most (all that I've looked at) universal GPU blocks do not accommodate 3/4" OD compression fittings. So my question is whether there is a block I haven't found yet that would fit my setup, or perhaps some kind of adapter of sorts that would give me the room I need.

On a related note, I've heard that many people that use universal blocks fabricate heatsinks for the VRAM and the voltage control things, and I was wondering if that was actually necessary.. and if it is.. is there a link anywhere with some information about it. Thanks in advance,

gbkinum1

More about : universal gpu block compression fittings

Best solution

a b K Overclocking
December 14, 2011 1:27:11 PM

I just recently switched from full cover to universal waterblocks and hit the same snag. I use 3/4" OD tubing and comp fittings on most of my blocks, but had to use fittings for the GPU block because none of the ones I found can hold such large fittings (it's simply due to the smaller size of universal blocks).