Removal of AM3 CPU Mount and Backplate

henrystrawn

Distinguished
Sep 9, 2009
Hey Forum,

I just bought a Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus for my Gigabyte GA-MA785G-UD3H rev 1.0. I know that I have to remove the stock CPU mount and back plate to install it.

It is in a CM Storm Scout Case that has a cut out for the CPU, so I shouldn't have to remove the MB.

My question is how is the best way to remove the stock back plate. Is there adhesive holding it on or is it just screws holding it on? If I have to pry it off, what is the best way to do this, minimizing the chance of damage to the motherboard?

I have never done this before, can someone, who has, give me some pointers?

My cooler should be here this evening, and hope to get some advice before attempting it.

Thanks for your time.

Solution
The manual is here:
http://www.coolermaster.com/upload/download/485/files/Hyper%20212%20Plus%20manual.pdf
and is pretty much useless...

My opinion - if you'd read it before ordering, you'd not have bought it, and the best decision now is to send it back, 'eat' the re-stock fee, and get something else. If you manage to damage the MOBO removing the backplate, I am 100% certain GB will not accept it for RMA; do you really think it's worth the risk? I read probably a hundred of the 262 reviews at NewEgg, there were some folks who did manage to get it on AMD boards, apparently without damaging the boards, but none mention how...

CoolerMaster makes good stuff - I've got a Cosmos, & love it, will likely buy a few more, but...

bilbat

Splendid
The manual is here:
http://www.coolermaster.com/upload/download/485/files/Hyper%20212%20Plus%20manual.pdf
and is pretty much useless...