Sign in with
Your question

Should I be worried with these temperatures

Last response: in Overclocking
December 16, 2011 12:16:17 AM

Hi, Im new here =]

I just got myself a 600W Extreme Power plus PSU, and a Saphire HD 6850 graphics card.
My other specs of my computer are; (Im no computer expert mind you so forgive me for any vague details)

Intel Core i5-750 (Up to 2.66ghz)
1 Tb hard drive
4 GB DDR3 Ram
Mid size ATX Case
- Height: 38.7 cm (15.23 inches)
- Width: 17.5 cm (6.89 inches)
- Length: 41.4 cm (16.29 inches)

I've installed the new PSU and GPU just recently, and have noticed that my temperature of my GPU skyrockets to 90-95 Celsius, which worries me after checking a few other forum threads online. Its resting temperature is ~60 Celcius.
My computer has fairly decent spacing and my room temperature is around 22 Celcius

Should I be worried about this and what are some solutions,
Help would be appreciated thanks!

More about : worried temperatures

a c 286 K Overclocking
December 16, 2011 12:36:49 PM

Those temps are too high IMO, but I would like to know the ambient temps and temps in CPU. I suggest you create a fan profile using MSI Afterburner to low the GPU temps.
m
l
a b K Overclocking
December 16, 2011 12:59:55 PM

+ 1 saint19. Your GPU SHOULD NOT BE @ 60 C at idle. What sort of cooling does it have? Are the fan(s) defective? Do you have a power plug for the fans that is not connected?

If your current cooling is working, then you should either mod out the GFX card with an aftermarket cooler, or RMA the current card it you can.
m
l
Related resources
December 16, 2011 1:31:41 PM

6850 ati card, 40-50c idle (50% fan speed) 75-85c while gaming (80% fan speed)
have you set your fan speed on manual and set it to low???
m
l
a c 183 K Overclocking
December 16, 2011 4:31:22 PM

One solution is buying a decent case with proper airflow.
Preferably one that features bottom mount psu and the ability to mount more then 2 fans.
5+ fan mounts is best.
m
l