Help Manging SDD and HDD

jonlewis

Distinguished
Jun 17, 2011
Hello,

Noob here so please forgive my lack of knowledge – I’ve recently put together a fairly high-end gaming rig and I am loving every minute of it but I am definitely still learning my way around the PC as a whole. My latest addition is a 120gb OCZ Vertex 3 SSD that I had some help with installing last night. Between the 2 of us we were able to install a fresh copy ofWin7 ultimate and set it up as the primary boot drive… I reinstalled all of the drivers and everything appears to be working as it should (I went from 5.9 to 7.8 Windows Index) My original HDD still has a copy of Win7 Home addition on it and the majority of my files (mostly steam games). I guess I am looking for guidance on is this okay to leave as is or should I remove the Win 7 Home addition from the HDD? – Also I plan on moving some of my games to the SDD but if I click on the hard drive should I still be able to load the games that I have on there? As of right now I cannot and I find myself changing the priority back to boot off of the HDD in order to access games etc… So What is the best way to manage and access both drives?

My apologies if this is not enough info – Let me know what else I may need to post

Thanks

Solution
I've never used Steam so I haven't got a clue how it works, but basically you're going to have to do whatever you did when you installed them on your original system, and you're going to have to do it for each game or program you want to use.

For example if it was Microsoft Office, you'd stick the Office disk into the optical drive, run the install program, and tell it where you want the program to be installed to.