Sign in with
Your question

Running a sata and ata hdd together

Last response: in Systems
September 21, 2009 3:04:18 PM

Hey,

I'm about to start building my computer after receiving great advice from this site. I just had a quick question. I bought a 500gb ATA133 hard drive for my old computer maybe a year ago. My new hard drive is SATA 3gb/s. Can I run the OS and mainly use the SATA hd while using the ATA one for storage/backing up? How exactly do I do this? This is my first build...

More about : running sata ata hdd

a b B Homebuilt system
September 21, 2009 4:40:45 PM

Yes...

My recommendation is install everything with just the SATA connected, then install The IDE drive. Go into your BIOS to make sure it reads the SATA as the boot drive. Start the PC up and go into you Disk Manager in the Admin function of the Control Panel to format the IDE drive, so you can begin using it.
m
l
September 21, 2009 7:08:22 PM

Yes you can do this no problem I have that running on my current pc, and as tecmo34 said probably would be easier to install the sata first.
m
l
a b B Homebuilt system
September 23, 2009 1:07:47 PM

Agree with all above. I'll add a couple notes. First, do not get confused by the term, "Master" that causes problems for some. When you install your only IDE drive, is will need to have jumpers set so it is the Master of the IDE channel it's connected to. You may have a jumper setting for just "Master", or some call this "Master with No Slave". This has absolutely nothing to do with which drive is your boot device - that is what you already have set in BIOS for the SATA drive. When the drive is set and installed, connect it to the end connector on the IDE cable (some have a middle connector, too, some don't).